Skip to main content Skip to footer

Burleigh-Morton Detention Center

The Burleigh Morton Detention Center Governance Board is a subcommittee of the Burleigh and Morton County Commissions and the Sheriffs of Burleigh and Morton Counties. The role of the committee is to act as a governing board for all matters affecting the Burleigh Morton Detention Center (BMDC). The Commissioners serve for the term of their portfolio assignment, and the Sheriffs serve for their elected term of office. The Sheriff of Burleigh County, in his role as Jail Administrator, serves as the Chair of the Board and calls meetings as necessary and in compliance with the BMDC Joint Powers Agreement (JPA).

Board Members

Burleigh County
Sheriff Kelly Leben
Commissioner Jerry Woodcox
Commissioner Wayne Munson

Morton County
Sheriff Kyle Kirchmeier
Commissioner Ron Leingang
Commissioner Ray Morrell

Meeting Schedule

Meeting scheduled as necessary


Meeting Agendas


Meeting Minutes 

Contact Us

Burleigh County
221 N 5th St
Bismarck ND 58501
T: 1 701-222-6718

Subscribe to Our News Releases

Subscribe to Our Agenda Notifications

This website uses cookies to enhance usability and provide a more personal experience. By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.