Skip to main content Skip to footer


Townships are local democratic governments established by law. Townships serve the public by overseeing roads, providing tax assessments, land use planning (zoning), and representation for township citizen's issues and concerns.

Burleigh County has 47 townships with 39 townships being formally organized and electing a Board Township Board of Supervisors. The Townships of Burnt Creek, Canfield, Florence Lake, Fort Rice, Lincoln, Lyman, Phoenix and Riverview are unorganized and governed by the Burleigh County Commission.

Burleigh County Township Officers

Burleigh County Townships Officers Association Handbook 

ND Township Officers Association Website

Township Road Maintenance

The Burleigh County Highway Department performs township road maintenance in each township on an individual contract basis. Each township selects the level of service and roads to include on their maintenance system.

For road issues in any of the 39 organized townships, contact your township officials. For road issues in any of the unorganized townships, contact the Burleigh County Highway Department. 

Road Blading Maps


Contact Us

Burleigh County
221 N 5th St
Bismarck ND 58501
T: 1 701-222-6718

Subscribe to Our News Releases

Subscribe to Our Agenda Notifications

This website uses cookies to enhance usability and provide a more personal experience. By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.